Portable friends

14 08 2010

Since Spring of 2007, I have been an active member of Babycenter.com communities.  I’ve always chatted on the birth boards when I’m pregnant.  In ’07, I met a group of gals, and we formed a private board and have been friends ever since.  The size of the group has dwindled, but we’ve  all bonded over our joy, trouble, and everything in between.  Family sizes range from 1 kid to 6!

Over the past year, I’ve also been learning a ton from the women on the Debt-free board on babycenter.  Most of our plans revolve at least loosely around Dave Ramsey’s philosophy, and it’s been quite uplifting chatting with women who’ve helped turn their family finances around.

The point of all this is to say that my online escapades have seemed ridiculous to many. They say, “What about real life?”  Well, I have moved a lot. In 2007, I moved from Atlanta to Columbus, GA. For six months after, I was unemployed and penniless–real good for a social life, right?  And I was at my next job less than 2 years before moving here to Kansas City.  Although I’ve met some great people, it takes a lot of time to make new friends. It’s rare, especially as you get older, to find people you click with immediately, so having my “ladies” on the internet has saved me from complete isolation.  I’ve met some of them in real life, anyway, so it’s not like we’re complete strangers. In fact, they know more about me than my family does!

So if you’re lonely, reach out on the interwebs.  You might make some new friends.  Or at least learn where some like-minded locals are.  I’ve already got my girls in a playgroup, and some people know us by name!

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

